Behind the Scenes: Broken Flowers (2005)

Broken Flowers #2 (#17)

Bill Murray and director Jim Jarmusch on the set of 2005’s Broken Flowers.

Bill Murray the actor is a legend. But Bill Murray the public figure has become an urban legend, hopping into New York kickball games with strangers and stealing french fries from people’s plates and then exclaiming “No one will ever believe you.”

Last week, Murray submitted to a reddit Ask Me Anything and provided some surprisingly candid answers. Including a claim that he agreed to do Garfield because he thought the screenwriter – Joel Cohen – was actually Joel Coen of the Coen Brothers.

Here’s the link to Murray’s AMA and a quote about how he ended up in Jim Jarmusch’s Broken Flowers.

I enjoyed the script that (Jarmusch) wrote. He asked me if I could do (the) movie, and I said “I gotta stay home, but if you make a movie that I could shoot within one hour of my house, I’ll do it.” So he found those locations. And I did the movie.

Leave a Comment

