Steadicam operator Larry McConkey talks his Goodfellas Copacabana shot

This year marks the 25th anniversary of the release of Martin Scorsese’s Goodfellas, a film that had such an impact on me as a 12-year-old that – a quarter century later – I still distinctly remember the first time I saw it. It was on HBO and the broadcast began well after midnight yet I stayed up all night to see it through to the end. I never looked at movies the same way again.

So it was my great pleasure to get to chat with Larry McConkey, one of the forefathers of the Steadicam, about his work on the film and its famous Copacabana tracking shot for Filmmaker Magazine. You can read the interview here.

Leave a Comment

