Behind the Scenes: Ex Machina (2015)

I’m in the process of finishing up an interview I did with Ex Machina (2015) cinematographer Rob Hardy for Filmmaker Magazine and I thought I’d share this collection of production stills and concept art I culled together during my research for the piece.

The film was shot mainly with the Sony F65 (the Sony F55 was used for some of the handheld work and GoPros were used for surveillance camera footage) and Cooke Xtal Express lenses, which are 1930s-era spherical lenses that were re-housed and adapted into anamorphics in the 1980s. As for the concept art, most of the pieces were done by the artist known as Jock.

Behind the Scenes

Concept Art

Leave a Comment

